Edgar Hudgins Memorial Scholarship

By the Editor, Tuesday, 28 May 2024 - 6:09 PM

Late 2023, the Association called for applications from young people aged between 21-25 years to apply for the...

2024 Edgar Hudgins Memorial Scholarship. The successful applicant receives a return air fare from their nearest airport to Houston, Texas and the Association will make arrangements for the person to be placed with members of the American Brahman Breeders' Association. The successful applicant will gain experience in the activities conducted on the Brahman ranches of the host family and live in the normal family environment. The scholarship is for 12 weeks duration.

2024 Edgar Hudgins Memorial Scholarship saw 3 applicants interviewed

- Brooke Robke, Martin Plains B Brahman Stud, Mount Martin, Queensland,
- Megan Kent, Ooline M Brahmans, Goovigen, Queensland
- Remy Streeter, Palmvale R Brahmans, Marlborough, Oueensland

Our Interview panel was...

- Adam Coffey, Coffey Cattle Co, Boreelum, Miriam Vale; Deputy Chair of Cattle Australia
- Rupert Collins, Accountant and HR Advisory at Collins & Collins Chartered Accountants, Rockhampton
- Marsha Keily, General Manager, Australian Brahman Breeders Association

During the presentation held on Thursday, 9th May in the Brahman Compound at Beef Australia, the crowd heard from previous



ABBA President, Reade Radel presents Megan Kent with her award for the 2024 Edgar Hudgins Memorial Scholarship.

scholarship awardees, Letitia Nicolle (2010) and Angus Creedon (2014).

Letitia took the opportunity to speak of the impact her time in the USA through the scholarship has had commenting "that it is an opportunity of a lifetime" and that "The Edgar Hudgins Memorial Scholarship has significantly contributed to where I am today". Letitia concluded her presentation with the following advice "Surround yourself with good people, step up and back yourself. Do not be scared to take the road less travelled. It builds character, resilience, versatility and the ability to adapt".

Angus described the scholarship as "an excellent opportunity" allowing him to visit 18 states. He challenged the successful applicant "to not pigeon hole yourself into the Brahman Stud game over there. Be extensive. Go see the rest of the operations over there in the states". Angus highlighted that his trip included visits to processing plants, commercial operations as well as the stud game, giving him a good grasp of industry in USA.

Scholarship was awarded to Megan Kent by ABBA President, Reade Radel. Congratulations Megan. We can't wait to follow your journey and hear of your experiences.

Previous Scholarship Awardees

NAME	YEAR
Laird Morgan	1987
Julie Day	1988
Alan Trail	1989
Terry Connor	1990
Ra Briggs	1991
Brett Sweetnam	1992
William Tucker	1993
Lawson Camm	1994
Michael Underwood	1995
Not Awarded	1996
Janice Allison	1997
Michael Leake	1998
Dan Radel	1999
Jordan Geddes	2000
Stacey Milner	2001
Colin Johnson	2002
Alice Fahey	2003
Sandy Cole	2004
Nikki Robertson	2005
Jason Bartolo	2006
Annaleise Zahl	2007
Terry Randell	2008
Geordie Elliott	2009
Letitia Nicolle	2010
Melissa Bethel	2011
Tess Camm	2012
Tom Delahunty	2013
Angus Creedon	2014
James Kent	2015
Amy Harch	2016
Issac Kent	2017
Blake Chiesa	2018
Lucie-Anne Kirk	2019
Jeremy Kinnon	2020

FUTURE DIRECTIONS

















































